Former Acolyte and WWE Champion, John Bradshaw Layfield is to be inducted in the WWE Hall of Fame

    As announced on WWE Backstage, JBL will be the latest inductee into the 2020 WWE Hall of Fame.

    Layfield joined WWE in 1996 as Justin ‘Hawk’ Bradshaw, before joining forces with Barry Windham as The New Blackjacks.

    He found inital success when he teamed with Ron Simmons AKA Faarooq as The Acolytes. Managed by The Jackyl and later as a part of The Undertaker’s Ministry of Darkness, they became beloved fan favourites as the Acolyte Protection Agency. The APA won three WWF/WWE Tag Team Titles, as well as a European and Hardcore Title during this time.

    In 2003, Bradshaw struck out on his own by playing into his love of stock markets, becoming the evil Texan billionaire John Bradshaw Layfield. He won the WWE Title in 2004, beating Eddie Guerrero. He also won a United States Title and an Intercontinental Title.

    He retired from in-ring competition in 2009. In 2013, he joined the WWE broadcast team and continued to call Raw, SmackDown and pay-per-view events until 2017, when he departed from the company.

    The WWE Hall of Fame will take place on April 2nd.